Killarney Historical Town Walk 2-3 hours duration
Killarney is steeped in history and The International has been at the heart of Killarney life since its inception in the mid 1800s. Established as a hotel in 1906, the International has a rich historical tapestry including being the location of the Killarney Electric Company, bringing street lighting to Killarney even before street lamps were used in London!
Killarney has 2 main heritage trails – one measuring 2.1km and winding around the town itself; another stretching to 6km as it ranges out towards St. Finian’s Hospital, the old monastery and St. Mary’s Cathedral. All roads in Killarney lead to the Market Cross,. This was the market place for Killarney Valley produce until the mid-20th-century and prior to mobile phones was one of the towns favourite meeting places!
Other attractions in the town include the Franciscan friary, built in 1860 around a foundation stone taken from the ruins of Muckross Abbey, as well as Killarney’s courthouse (1835), its railway station (1853) and St. Mary’s Cathedral. Designed by Augustus Pugin, the cathedral’s large tower and skyrocketing spire, are of an Early English style and date from 1855. Ask at Reception for more details.